Kevin Puts


Music by Kevin Puts

Conspirare / Craig Hella Johnson
Baltimore Symphony Orchestra / Marin Alsop

Listen on Apple Music, Spotify, and YouTube now!

In stock

SKU: C13PUTS Category: Tags: , ,

Track Listing and Audio Samples

1. If I Were a Swan 2012 (Fleda Brown, b. 1944)
To Touch the Sky, 2012
Nine Songs for Unaccompanied Chorus on Texts by Women
2. I. Annunciation (Magnificat), (Marie Howe, b. 1950)
3. II. Unbreakable, (Mirabai, ca. 1498-1557)
4. III. The Fruit of Silence, (Mother Teresa of Calcutta, 1910-1977)
5. IV. Falling Snow, (Amy Lowell, 1874-1925)
6. V. At Castle Wood (Emily Brontë, 1818-1948)
7. VI. Epitaph, (Edna St. Vincent Millay, 1892-1950)
8. VII. Who has seen the wind? (Christina Georgina Rossetti, 1830-1894)
9. VIII. With my two arms, (Sappho, ca. 615-570 BC)
10. IX. Most noble evergreen (Hildegard of Bingen, 1098-1179)

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Marin Alsop

Symphony No. 4 "From Mission San Juan,"  2007
11. I. Prelude: Mission San Juan Bautista, ca. 1800
12. II. Arriquetpon (diary of Francisco Arroyo de la Cuesta, 1818)
13. III. Interlude
14. IV. Healing Song

Harmonia Mundi HMU 907580 – 60'02"

Release Date: 09/10/2013

Catalog Number: HMU 907580
Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Kevin Puts is known for his distinctive and richly colored musical voice. Making their label début, Marin Alsop and the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra perform Puts' Symphony No. 4 ("From Mission San Juan"), inspired by Native American melodies. Opening this program of world première recordings, Craig Hella Johnson leads Conspirare in two choral settings of texts by women poets: "To Touch the Sky" and "If I Were a Swan." (from Harmonia Mundi package notes). Mela Dailey, Conspirare solo soprano.
♦ Tracks 1-10 recorded September/October 2012 at St. Martin's Lutheran Church, Austin, TX
♦ Tracks 11-14 recorded live June 2012 at Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall, Baltimore, MD


Additional information

Weight5.00 oz
Dimensions5.5 × .75 × 5.0 in