Always (Christmas 2004)


With Guest Artist Cynthia Clawson

Craig Hella Johnson & Company of Voices

In stock

SKU: C04CAR Categories: , Tags: , ,

Track Listing and Audio Samples:


  1. O Sapientia (Springfield Antiphonal) / Veni Emmanuel (French processional)
  2. on your wings (Sam Beam, iron and wine)
  3. One Day I’ll Fly Away (Joe Sample)
  4. Collage: Feathered Dove (Sacred Harp) / Hound of Heaven (Company) / O sinner man (traditional English folk song)
  5. O Salutaris Hostia (Pierre de la Rue)
  6. Somebody’s Knocking (spiritual) / Who By Fire (Leonard Cohen/CHJ)
  7. I Heard the Voice (Thomas Tallis/arr. CHJ)
  8. Killing Me Softly (Gimbel/Fox)
  9. I’ll Be Loving You (Irving Berlin/arr. CHJ)
  10. O Morning Star (Philipp Nicolai)
  11. Oh How Shall I Receive You? (Johann Crueger)
  12. Hodie Christus Natus Est (J.P. Sweelinck)
  13. The Guests (Leonard Cohen)
  14. Some enchanting evening (Richard Rogers)
  15. Wade in the water (Judy Henske)
  16. i will wade out (Eric Whitacre)
  17. O Nata Lux (Morten Lauridsen)
  18. Ye shall have a song (Randall Thompson)
  19. Song of Bernadette (Leonard Cohen)
  20. With So Little To Be Sure Of (Stephen Sondheim)
  21. What a fellowship (A.J. Showalter)
  22. hope, faith, life, love (Eric Whitacre)
  23. Hey, My Love (Lady Maisry/arr. CHJ)
  24. Hallelujahs (Chris Rice)


  1. Come, Love, Carolling (Sydney Carter)
  2. Senzenina (Niel van der Watt)
  3. As with gladness men of old (C. Kocher/arr. Bruce Greer)
  4. Joy to the World (G.F. Handel)
  5. Collage: Impossible (Oscar Hammerstein II) / It’s Impossible (Sid Wayne) / Sometimes When We Touch (Dan Hill) / I Can Dream, Can’t I (Sammy Fain)
  6. O Love, That Will Not Let Me Go (Albert L. Peace)
  7. O Little Town of Bethlehem (Lewis H. Redner)
  8. Tantum ergo (Maurice Duruflé)
  9. Collage: We clasp the hands (CHJ) / I Could’ve Danced All Night (Lerner-Lowe/arr. CHJ)


10. Fest-und Gedenksprüche, Opus 109 (Johannes Brahms)

  1. Unsere Väter hofften auf dich
  2. Wenn ein starker Gewappneter
  3. Wo ist ein so herrlich Volk
  1. Sanctus from Mass for Double Chorus (Frank Martin)
  2. Motherless Child (CHJ)

Recorded live December 2004 at The Carillon on Exposition, Austin, TX

Additional piano / vocal performances by Craig Hella Johnson.

Release Date: 06/01/2005

Additional information

Weight4.00 oz
Dimensions5.5 × .75 × 5.0 in