House of Belonging – 2024 GRAMMY®-Nominated


“Many of the performances on this latest collection by Conspirare are so powerful, one can’t help but be awed by their beauty.” -Textura Magazine

House of Belonging is a dynamic and timely collection of world premieres for choir and instruments featuring the Miró Quartet, violinist Sandy Yamamoto, cellist Daniel Kopp and pianist Carla McElhaney.

Craig Hella Johnson leads Conspirare in a musical exploration of home and belonging.  These world premiere recordings showcase the virtuosity and distinctive expressiveness of Conspirare’s vocal artists in music from composers Alex Berko, Craig Hella Johnson, Shara Nova, Kevin Puts, Michael Schachter, and Derrick Skye. The music of Margaret Bonds, Ross Lee Finney and Moira Smiley complete the album.

The musical texts are written by a diverse array of writers and poets including Ludwig van Beethoven, Wendell Berry, Hildegard of Bingen, Langston Hughes, Kobayashi Issa, Rūta Kuzmickas & Alex Berko, Andrew Marvell, John Muir, Kiara Skye, William Stafford, Rabindranath Tagore, Euan Tait, and David Whyte.

With soloists Simon Barrad, Meg Dudley, Haitham Haidar, Chelsea Helm, Michael Jones, Lauren McAllister, Savannah Porter, Kathlene Ritch, and David Kurtenbach Rivera.


In stock

Categories: ,

Track Listing

  1. Reaching (Craig Hella Johnson)
  2. Home (Kevin Puts)
  3. Black Ocean: Anthems of a Crowd 7 (Derrick Skye)
  4. Sacred Place: (I) Opening Prayer (Alex Berko)
  5. Sacred Place: (II) Amidah (Alex Berko)
  6. Sacred Place: (III) Shema (Alex Berko)
  7. Sacred Place:(IV) Mi Shebeirach (Alex Berko)
  8. Sacred Place:(V) Kaddish (Alex Berko)
  9. Sacred Place:(VI) Closing Prayer (Alex Berko)
  10. Haiku (Moira Smiley)
  11. See How the Earth (Ross Lee Finney)
  12. The House of Belonging (Shara Nova)
  13. O Vorsehung (Michael Schachter)
  14. Joy (Margaret Bonds)
  15. You Through Me (Alex Berko)
  16. Evergreen (Kevin Puts)
  17. I Have Never Loved Someone (Shara Nova)

Recorded April 3 - 5, 2023 at St. Martin's Lutheran Church, Austin, TX

Release Date: 09/08/2023
Label: Delos Productions, Inc.
Catalog Number: DE3601
Executive Producers: Ann McNair and Craig Hella Johnson
Producer and Recording Engineer: Randall Squires
Associate Producer and Technical Director: Robert Harlan
Recording Assistant: Allyson Moreno
Cover Design: Karin Elsener
Booklet Design: Lonnie Kunkel
Photo credits: Conspirare: Cassandra Weyendt, Miró Quartet: Jeff Wilson
Conspirare gratefully acknowledges the following for their support of this recording: Tejemos Foundation / Lynne Dobson and Greg Wooldridge / The Joel Brauer Fund for
New Music / Mary and Phil Delk / Dale and Tina Knobel / DeeAnne and Steven Paulson / The Eva and Marvin Womack Foundation / H-E-B / Anonymous / Legacy of Sound 2 / Hella Circle / Texas Commission on the Arts / St. Martin’s Lutheran Church / MKI Artists / Andrea Troolin / Conspirare Board and Staff
This project is supported in part by the National Endowment for the Arts. To find out more about how National Endowment for the Arts grants impact individuals and communities, visit
We thank the following individuals for their additional generous support: Fran & Larry Collmann Danna & Crutch Crutchfield, William Fivecoat, Lara & Robert Harlan, Richard Hartgrove & Gary Cooper, Gail & Jeffrey Kodosky, Wendi & Brian Kushner, and Gayle & Mike Roche

Additional information

Weight4 oz
Dimensions5.5 × .75 × 5 in